Today the blog entry is a bit different. In English for one, and it is more like an open letter, rather than typical blog entry. This is a letter to Alan and Jane Brian.

Dear Alan and Jane,

my heart has broken many times lately when reading about the harm that has come to your way too often this late summer. 

You maybe never even in your wildest dreams guessed how the life would be after you decided to leave the good old England behind and move to Andalucia. I remember while sitting on patio with my family last year, in late June, listening about your plan after you founded a perfect piece of land, with lovely olive tree garden. Was it so that the place was holy, somebody had seen Virgin Mary near the trees? The place would have been a great location and marvellous surroundings for the camp site you wanted to establish there. Just perfect.

I can not even imagine, the sight of a hanged dog you found, from your own backyard. After that your plans and life changed. No camp site, but a refuge for the dogs. Pepis Dog Refuge. You chose to something that most of the people think is mad. You chose to live a life that consumes so much. You were brave, and you are brave that you are still there, fighting for these dogs and helping them. All the odds are against you, byt you just keep going. No easy day, hard work, more dogs coming in than space, always a struggle to find a way to raise money to look after the shelter. 

These awful events you have faces recently, they are enough to break most of people. Losing your grandson..... I don't know how you fight through that, how you tell your heart that someday it is not going to hurt so much. Alan, you have been ill. I am pretty sure, that while you were at the hospital, your first concern was not you and your health but Jane and the dogs? How they are, is everything ok at the refuge? Enough money to get food for the dogs? And how is your beloved beautiful wife coping without you? I am right, si? 

Then these hijos de putas enter at the shelter, just to harm these dogs you have fought so hard to save. What kind of person poisons the dogs who are in a shelter, trying to find a chance to a better life after been neglected, abused and left by their owners? If the way how dogs are treated in Spain isn't sick enough, this sure wins the first price in the competition of twisted human mind.

I hope that the fundraising event we just put up in Facebook raises some money for and you can built the fence you need to keep unwanted people out from the area. And dogs safe. Or to help you with the vet bills, I'm sure you have more than enough of these trying to treat the dogs who ate the poison. 

I am pretty sure, the land is holy. Not sure about the Virgin Mary, but for sure there are two Angels living at Pepis. Guardian Angels for these dogs who had no hope. You are my heroes. What you do inspires people. You, and others like you show the world what is really important - and it is not the new car, big house, fat pay check. It is caring, compassion, unselfiness, helping the ones in need.

I would carry some of your heavy load if I could. I wish you strenght and happiness. God bless you.

Kati

Ps. Might drive up there in November with Miia, I am coming to Spain for few days. I will let you know how the plan works out. Few photos from my last visit below.